Wednesday, 21 February 2018

What are CompTIA Stackable Certifications?

What are CompTIA Stackable Certifications?

CompTIA Stackable Certifications launched in early 2018 and recognise professionals that have achieved multiple CompTIA certifications.

Each Stackable Certification is aligned to a specific role within IT, proving a deeper level of knowledge and experience. They follow the two established CompTIA Career Pathways:

  • CompTIA Infrastructure Career Pathway
  • CompTIA Cybersecurity Career Pathway

CompTIA Stackable Certifications are further divided into separate experience levels:

  • Specialist: Entry-level IT professionals with 0-2 years of experience
  • Professional: Mid-level IT professionals with 2-5 years of experience
  • Expert: Established IT professionals with 5+ years of experience

In this article, we’ll dive into the CompTIA Infrastructure and Cybersecurity Career Pathways, taking a closer look at the Stackable Certifications available at each level.

CompTIA Infrastructure Career Pathway

Progressing through the CompTIA Infrastructure Career Pathway validates knowledge across multiple skillsets within IT operations. As you move from Specialist to Professional, you’ll develop advanced skills within the IT infrastructure stack, broadening the number of professional roles you can work within.

The Stackable Certifications within this pathway are gained by achieving a combination of CompTIA A+, Network+, Security+, Server+, Linux+ and Cloud+ certifications.


04294 CompTIA Cert Badges_Specialist - CIOSCompTIA IT Operations Specialist (CIOS) - Earn the A+ and Network+ and you’ll prove your fundamental understanding of the software and hardware required for IT support roles, as well as knowledge of networking technologies.

04294 CompTIA Cert Badges_Specialist - CSSSCompTIA Systems Support Specialist (CSSS) - Earn the A+ and Linux+ to demonstrate that you understand IT software and hardware fundamentals and possess a deep understanding of Linux operating systems.


04294 CompTIA Cert Badges_Specialist - CCAPCompTIA Cloud Admin Professional (CCAP) - Earn the Network+ and Cloud+ to prove you have a working knowledge of both cloud and networking technologies.

04294 CompTIA Cert Badges_Professional - CNIPCompTIA Network Infrastructure Professional (CNIP) - Achieve Network+ and Server+ to prove your aptitude for server and networking technologies.

04294 CompTIA Cert Badges_Professional -CLNPCompTIA Linux Network Professional (CLNP) – Achieve the Network+ and Linux+ to prove your expertise across networking technologies and Linux operating systems.

CompTIA Cybersecurity Career Pathway

Advancing through the CompTIA Cybersecurity Career Pathway will demonstrate your competency across different areas of cybersecurity.

Following the pathway will take you from a novice to a cybersecurity expert, proving you’re capable of working across a number of senior cybersecurity roles.

The Stackable Certifications within this pathway are gained by achieving a combination of CompTIA’s A+, Network+, Security+, CySA+ and CASP certifications.

The pathway will expand towards the second half of 2018, with the launch of the PenTest+ - for more information, take a look at this guide to the PenTest+.


04294 CompTIA Cert Badges-CSISCompTIA Secure Infrastructure Specialist (CSIS) - Achieve the A+, Network+ and Security+ and prove your understanding of networks, computer software, hardware – as well as the fundamental skills to secure them.


04294 CompTIA Cert Badges_Professional - CSCPCompTIA Secure Cloud Professional (CSCP) - Earn both the Security+ and Cloud+ to demonstrate your understanding of cloud technology and the skills required to secure the technology within a business.

04294 CompTIA Cert Badges_Professional - CSAPCompTIA Security Analytics Professional (CSAP) - Achieve the Security+ and CySA+ to demonstrate your ability to detect and respond to security threats as fast as possible by collecting and analysing data.

CompTIA Network Vulnerability Assessment Professional (CNVAP) - Achieve the Security+ and PenTest+ to demonstrate you have the skills to test your business’ systems for security vulnerabilities.

CompTIA Network Security Professional (CNSP) - Achieve the Security+, PenTest+ and CySA+ to demonstrate you possess the skills needed complete network vulnerability assessments and are also able to conduct security analytics tasks.


04294 CompTIA Cert Badges_Professional - CSAECompTIA Security Analytics Expert (CSAE) - Earn the Security+, CySA+ and CASP to demonstrate an expert understanding of security. You’ll prove fundamental security expertise, security analysis and IT security within the enterprise.

CompTIA Security Infrastructure Expert (CSIE) - Earn the Security+, CySA+, PenTest+ and CASP to demonstrate an expert understanding of security infrastructure. This stackable certification validates knowledge of security analysis, penetration testing and enterprise IT security.

Do you already have a CompTIA Stackable Certification?

If you actively hold the combination of certifications required, you will have already earned a CompTIA Stackable Certification. Simply log into your certification account to download and display your new certification immediately.

We recommended you add a digital copy to your resume or LinkedIn profile to highlight your new professional status.

If you achieved your certification before CompTIA introduced recertification requirements, you can earn your Stackable Certifications by re-certifying your existing credentials.

Your fastest official route to gain Stackable Certifications

Achieve your CompTIA certification 50% faster than traditional training. Train fast with Firebrand on an accelerated CompTIA course and you’ll get access to official courseware alongside approved instructors:

Firebrand is a CompTIA Platinum Partner. Through our unique Lecture | Lab | Review learning style, you will be immersed in the official curriculum with a minimum of 12 hours’ training each day.

You’ll stay at our purpose-built training centre, free from the distractions of daily life. You’ll also sit your CompTIA exam(s) just steps from your classroom at Firebrand’s Pearson Vue exam centre.

Find out how to get CompTIA certification fast