Thursday, 8 September 2016

Discover the big name finalists named for EC-Council Foundation's InfoSecTech & Exec Awards 2016

Earlier this week EC-Council Foundation announced the finalists for their upcoming InfoSec Tech & Exec Awards Gala running at Hacker Halted on September 14th in Atlanta, GA

On 6th September, EC-Council Foundation announced the finalists for the prestigious upcoming InfoSec Tech & Exec awards. The event honours cyber security professionals, recognising those who represent the very best in their field. 

There are seven award categories across which the nominations are spread. These include Certified CISO (CCISO) of the Year, CISO of the Year, Innovative Security Project of the Year, Most Improved Security Program of the Year, Ethical Hacker of the Year, Penetration Tester of the Year, and Forensics Analyst of the year. Let’s take a closer look at the categories and the big names announced:

Certified CISO (CCISO) of the Year

This award recognises high level professionals, all of which carry the EC-Council Certified CISO credential. They were selected for their contributions to the CCISO community, as well as to the information security industry as a whole. Finalists include:

Richard Ryan II Hernandez, Information Security Officer at LafargeHolcim; Paul Horn, CISO at HD Vest Financial Services; Hung-Pin Hsieh, Senior Manager at Acer Inc.; Luis O. Noguerol, President & CEO at Advanced Division of Informatics & Technology, Inc.; and Niran Seriki, Senior Cyber Security Consultant for EU Institutions.

CISO of the Year

This award highlights professionals who have been nominated for their leadership and innovation in working to secure their organisation. This is achieved amongst a constantly changing landscape of threats. Finalists include:

Syed Azher, CISO at Impact Group; Medha Bhalodkar, CISO at Columbia University; Pavankumar Bolisetty, Global Head - Information Security at Wave Crest Holdings Ltd.; Jared Carstensen, Chief Information Security Officer at CRH plc.; Kok Kee Chaiw, Vice President, IT Security & Assurance IT Security & Assurance at MEASAT Broadcast Network Systems Sdn Bhd (ASTRO TV Malaysia); Bobby Dominguez, Chief Strategy & Security Officer at Lynx Technology Partners, Inc.; Youssef Elmalty, Head of Cyber Security at IBM; Aizuddin Mohd Ghazali, Group IT, Head, Risk & Security Management at Sime Darby Holdings Bhd; Amit Ghodekar, Vice President, CISO at Motilal Oswal Financial Services Ltd; Marvin Marin, Cyber Security Program Manager & Technical Advisor at NetCentrics; Michael Molinaro, CISO & VP at BioReference Laboratories, Inc., JR Reagon, former Global CISO at Deloitte; and Eric Svetcov, AVP, Information Security & CSO at MedeAnalytics.

Innovative Security Project of the Year

This award will recognises a cyber security project that showed an advanced difficulty level while innovating with methods or solutions to support the business goals of its organisation. The finalists include:

Chen Heffer, Cyber Security Officer and his team at the Douglas County Government; Dan Nagle, Senior Software Engineer at Harman Professional Solutions; and Niran Seriki, Senior Cyber Security Consultant at EU Institutions.

Most Improved Security Program of the Year

This exciting award recognises the impact strong leadership can create in securing an organisation when the correct frameworks, policies, and governance are put in place. The finalists for this award include:

Chad Cottle, Chief Information Security Officer and his team at City of Lexington, KY; Juan Gomez-Sanchez, Chief Security Officer at Lennar Corporation; Brenda McAnderson, Chief System Sustainment at System Sustainment, National Cybersecurity Protection System (NCPS), Network Security Deployment (NSD), Office of Cybersecurity and Communications (CS&C), U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS); Paul Medici, Director at Fidelity; and Preston Werntz, Chief, Technology Services Division at U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Office of Cybersecurity and Communications.

Technical awards

The following awards focus on the technical expertise of cyber security professionals. This is the first time EC-Council Foundation is awarding these categories.

Ethical Hacker of the Year

This award resonates strongly with EC-Council Foundation’s mission of global cyber security, r
einforced by the Certified Ethical Hacker certification. The award highlights the critical role that ethical hackers play in identifying, reporting and patching weaknesses in the world’s cyber infrastructure. The finalists include: 

Marc Rogers Information Security & IT Expert at CloudFlare, Ankur Chandrakant, Cyber Security & Forensics Expert at Cyber Radix Academy for Future Technology; Zechariah Akinpelu, Team Lead, Application and Database Security Control at Fidelity Bank PLC; Christopher Chavez, Cyber Security Consultant at Avyara Information Systems; and Ali Tabish, Sr. Information Security Analyst at Moon International Pak Pvt Ltd.

Penetration Tester of the Year

This award recognises the professional pen tester who embodies the very best principles of penetration testing. They do this by contributing to the industry and the positive view of information security professionals. The finalists are:

Bassem Helmy, Senior Security Consultant at Deloitte Middle East; Bastien Treptel, Director at Ctrl IT Pty Ltd; Srinivasan Subramaniam Muthukondapuram of Consulting Private Limited, Jonathan Paz Gamer & Black Box Pen Tester at RootByte; and Shitesh Sachan, Sr. Lead Application Security at hCentive.

Forensics Analyst of the Year

This award recognises the professional showing exemplary work in forensics analysis through innovation and meticulous performance of duties. The finalists include:

Andrew Case, Director of Research at Volexity; Ahmed Fawzy, Information Security Manager at Raya Contact Center; Muhammad Nuh Al-Azhar, Superintendent Police - Chief of Computer Forensic Lab. at Indonesian Police Forensic Laboratory Centre; Manish Aggarwal, Netowrk Security Analyst at Total IT Solutions Education Organization; and Yamikani Gogo Wilfred Hauya, Systems Support Officer at Malawi Revenue Authority.

The InfoSec Tech & Exec Gala will precede Hacker Halted, EC-Council Foundation’s largest annual cybersecurity conference, as well as the Global CISO Forum, the Foundation’s premier executive-level event. Tickets are still available for both events.