Tuesday, 7 January 2014

The hottest certifications for 2014


The value of IT and Project Management certifications have immensely increased as IT security, risk management, project management or computer forensics experts are more and more in demand.

According to the European Commission "there will be a deficit of over 900,000 trained IT staff in Europe by 2015”. Firebrand compiled a list of this year’s hottest IT and Project Management certifications to help you make the most of the 100,000s of job opportunities.

CISSP - Certified Information Systems Security Professional

The CISSP is an advanced level certification for information security professionals. As a CISSP, you’ll be an expert in developing, guiding, and managing security standards, policies, and procedures within your organisation.

(ISC)2 designed and developed CISSP for experienced security professionals. To obtain this certification, you’ll need a minimum of 5-years experience in at least two of the following (ISC)2 common body of knowledge domains:
  • Access Control
  • Telecommunications and Network Security
  • Information Security Governance and Risk Management
  • Software Development Security
  • Cryptography
  • Security Architecture and Design
  • Operations Security
  • Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Planning
  • Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Compliance
  • Physical (Environmental) Security

The CISSP will be one of this year’s most sought after IT certifications and an overall must-have for IT security professionals.

PMP – Project Management Professional

Developed by project managers, PMP is the highest level credential offered by the Project Management Institute (PMI). The certification is designed to ensure that PMP holders possess the skills and qualifications to successfully manage all phases of a project, including:
  • Initiating
  • Planning
  • Scheduling
  • Controlling
  • Monitoring
  • Closing the project

PMP certified professionals are also experts in managing all aspects of the triple constraints – time, cost and scope.

In order to get PMP certified, credential seekers must demonstrate and prove they have the skills and knowledge required to be successful in the field of project management. Demonstrating documentations must include proof of education, projects worked on and hours spent in each of the five phases of project management.

CRISC - Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control

ISACA’s CRISC is awarded to IT professionals experienced in business and technology risk management, as well as the design, implementation, monitoring and maintenance of Information Systems Control.

As a CRISC certified professional, you’ll manage risk design and oversee response measures, monitor systems for risk, and ensure your organisation's risk management strategies are met.

Job roles for CRISC credential holders include:
  • IT Security Analyst
  • Security Engineer Architect
  • Information Assurance Program Manager
  • Senior IT Auditor

The CRISC exam covers the following domains:
  • Risk Assessment
  • Identification and Evaluation
  • Information Systems Control Monitoring and Maintenance
  • Risk Response
  • Information Systems Control Design and Implementation
  • Risk Monitoring

Since its inception in 2010, over 17,000 pros have obtained the CRISC certification.

CISM – Certified Information Security Manager

CISM, also developed by ISACA, is a top credential for IT security professionals specialising in managing, developing and overseeing information security systems or for developing best organisational security practices.

The credential targets the needs of IT security professionals with enterprise level security management responsibilities. CISM certified professionals possess advanced and proven skills in:
  • Security Risk Management
  • Program Development and Management
  • Governance, and Incident Management
  • Responding to Incidents

CISM credential holders must agree to the CISM Code of Professional Ethics, pass the examination, possess at least five years of security experience and submit a written application to qualify.

CHFI – Certified Hacking Forensic Investigator

EC-Council’s CHFI certification focuses on forensics tools, analytical techniques, and procedures involved in obtaining, maintaining, and presenting computer forensic evidence and data in a court of law.

The CHFI course covers the following topics:
  • Cyber-Crime Overview
  • Search and Seizure of Computers
  • Working with Digital Evidence
  • Incident Handling and First Responder Procedures
  • Gathering Volatile and Non-Volatile Data from a Windows Computer
  • Recovering Deleted Files and Partitions from Windows, Macintosh, and Linux Systems
  • Password Cracking
  • Log Capturing Tools and Techniques
  • Investigating Network Traffic, Wireless Attacks, Web Attacks, and E-mail Crimes

As a CHFI, you’ll be able to protect your organisation by responding promptly to any and all attacks.  

About the Author:       
Sarah writes for Firebrand Training on a number of IT related topics. This includes exams, training, certification trends, project management, certification, careers advice and the industry itself. Sarah has 11 years of experience in the IT industry.